Contact Information

The UNM Police Department operates 24-hours a day and 7-days a week.  The police station is located on main campus, at the west end of Hokona Hall.  Our address is  2500 Campus Blvd. NE Albuquerque, NM 87131, MSC02 1540.  There are parking spaces in front of the police station reserved for police business only. 

The UNM Police Department offers safety escort services to anyone needing a safety escort from an on-campus location to another on-campus location 24 hours, 7 days a week. We do not provide safety escorts to off-campus locations. Call the Safety Escort number below for more information.

Contact Phone Numbers

For Emergencies Call 911

For all other calls / UNM PD Dispatch: (505) 277-2241

Escorts: (505) 277-2241

Records: (505) 277-3150

Lost and Found: (505) 277-0081

UNM Security: (505) 277-6059

UNM Hospital Security (North Campus): (505) 272-2160

Joseph SilvaName: Joseph Silva
Position: Chief of Police
Serving Since: 1981
Area of Responsibility: University Public Safety and Security
Contact: (505) 277-1933
Email: jsilva23@unm.edu
Christine ChesterName: Christine Chester
Position: Deputy Chief
Serving Since: 1986
Area of Responsibility: Assistant Director, Public Safety & Security
Contact : (505) 277-1934
Email: cchester@unm.edu
James MadridName: James Madrid
Position: Commander
Serving Since: 1991
Area of Responsibility: Business Operations, Clery Report, Court Liaison 
Contact: (505) 277-0231
Email: jmadrid2@unm.edu
artgonzales

Name: Arturo Gonzalez
Position: Commander
Serving Since: 1996
Area of Responsibility: Police Operations

Contact: (505)277-3065
Email: aegonzalez71@unm.edu

Tim StumpName: Tim Stump
Position: Lieutenant
Serving Since: 1993
Area of Responsibility: Clery Report, Special Events, and Evidence Custodian
Contact: (505)277-1935 
Email: tstump@unm.edu
Guadalupe (Pete) GuevaraName: Guadalupe (Pete) Guevara
Position: Lieutenant
Serving Since: 1988
Area Responsibility: Patrol Officers  
Contact: (505)277-0992
Email: gguevara@unm.edu
Larry BitsoihName: Larry Bitsoih
Position: Lieutenant
Serving Since: 1986
Area of Responsibility: Public Information, Communications, Investigations, Special Events Security
Contact: (505)277-4508
Email: lbitsoih@unm.edu
jeffmcdonaldName: Jeff McDonald
Position: Security Operations Director
Serving Since:  1990
Area of Responsibility: Provides direction, leadership and coordination of all security functions of the University.  Oversees the integration of security systems, operations and technologies for UNM. 
Contact: (505)277-4021
Email: jmcdonald853@unm.edu